The Deloitte Foundation Announces Recipients of the 2013 Doctoral Fellowships in Accounting

Primary tabs

The Deloitte Foundation Announces Recipients of the 2013 Doctoral Fellowships in Accounting

$250,000 in grants awarded to 10 Ph.D. candidates
tweet me:
The #Deloitte Foundation has awarded $25,000 grants to 10 top Ph.D. candidates in #accounting. @Deloitte
Thursday, January 31, 2013 - 10:05am

CAMPAIGN: The Deloitte Foundation

CONTENT: Press Release

WILTON, Conn.Jan. 31, 2013 /3BL Media/ -- The Deloitte Foundation has awarded $25,000 grants to ten top Ph.D. candidates from the Deloitte Foundation's annual Doctoral Fellowships in Accounting program.  Given to top accounting doctoral students who plan to pursue academic careers upon graduation, the award will support the 2013 recipients' final year of coursework and the subsequent year to complete their doctoral dissertation. 

This year's recipients and the institutions they attend are:

Matthew C. Cedergren

New York University

Brant E. Christensen

Texas A&M University

Emily E. Griffith

University of Georgia

Bret A. Johnson

The Ohio State University

Rebecca C. Lester

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jed J. Neilson

University of Michigan

Bryce A. Schonberger

University of South Carolina

Thomas D. Steffen

Duke University

Jenny Zha

University of California-Berkeley

Aaron F. Zimbelman

University of Illinois


"For nearly 60 years, the Deloitte Foundation has proudly awarded Doctoral Fellowships in Accounting to more than 1,000 Ph.D. candidates," said Shaun Budnik , partner, Deloitte LLP and Deloitte Foundation president.  "Since the grantees aim for careers in academia, the program plays a crucial role in contributing toward a pipeline of highly-skilled, qualified accounting faculty on campuses to educate our profession's next generation of talent and leaders. I congratulate all of the 2013 grantees."

Each year, approximately 100 universities are invited to apply for the Fellowship, and the accounting faculty nominates the students.  A selection committee composed of three eminent accounting educators -- ProfessorsBenjamin Ayers of the University of Georgia, Gregory Miller of the University of Michigan and Mark Peecher of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign - chose this year's recipients.

"The Deloitte Foundation's long history of support for accounting doctoral education has benefited generations of accounting scholars and their students. The Deloitte Foundation Doctoral Fellowship provides critical funding for Ph.D. candidates, which allows them to focus on developing skills and talents that help educate and shape future leaders in accounting and business," said Professor Benjamin Ayers of the University of Georgia, outgoing member of the Faculty Selection Committee.  "As a former recipient of the Deloitte Foundation Doctoral Fellowship, I am honored to serve on this committee, am grateful for the Deloitte Foundation's continued support of this program, and look forward to the great things that this year's recipients will accomplish."

About the Deloitte Foundation 
The Deloitte Foundation, founded in 1928, is a not-for-profit organization that supports teaching, research and curriculum innovation in accounting, business and related fields within the U.S. The Foundation sponsors an array of national programs relevant to a variety of professional services, benefiting middle/high school students, undergraduates, graduate students and faculty.  For more information, please visit the Deloitte Foundation web page at

As used in this document, "Deloitte" means Deloitte LLP and its subsidiaries.  Please see for a detailed description of the legal structure of Deloitte LLP and its subsidiaries. Certain services may not be available to attest clients under the rules and regulations of public accounting.



Keywords: Education | Deloitte Foundation | Doctoral Fellowships in Accounting | Fellowship | Grants | dissertation | students

CAMPAIGN: The Deloitte Foundation

CONTENT: Press Release